The name of the two swords that are worn by Samurai and Bushi. They consist of a Katana and a Wakizashi. This tradition lasted until 1876 when the wearing of swords was forbidden except by the military and the police.

The higher grades of Budo symbolised by a black belt. Such men or women have progressed through the Kyu grades and are considered technically qualified to move on towards an expert level. The corresponding technical or honorary awards are:
First Dan or 'student'
Second Dan or 'disciple'
Third Dan or 'confirmed disciple'
Fourth Dan or 'expert'
Fifth and Sixth Dan or 'spiritual experts'
Seventh and Eight Dan or 'specialized experts'
Ninth and Tenth Dan or 'masters'